Tags

, , , , , , , ,

It seems that every day I discover a new (or old!) thing I become OBSESSED with. A book, a lip balm, a long lost earring. Fancy Favorites will be the most common posts on this blog, as my ultimate goal is just to share the sweet things in life with my readers. So, let’s get into it…

Fancy Favorite #1 – The statement necklace

Nothing says, “hello, world! Here I am!” quite better than bold and slightly outlandish jewelry.  I prefer to keep things simple with my outfit and accessorize it up to get things interesting. Necklaces and bracelets are my usual outlets for that. Earrings have taken the backseat at this point, though I feel at times my collection of busy chandeliers are calling my name.

Without a doubt, my favorite piece of fun jewelry these days is my J. Crew Bubble Necklace that was given to me as a graduation gift by my sister Jen. The truth is I never would have thought to drape my neck with 10 pounds of yellow beading before it, but now I’m certain I’ll never downsize.

After realizing that having the same necklace appear in nearly all of my Facebook photos is only so acceptable these days, I decided to purchase another. But boy when I realized the cash I’d have to shell out I changed my mind.

J.Crew’s version of this necklace has definitely set this trend, but you can look elsewhere for replicas or other bauble style necklaces. Etsy is a great start, or you can turn to Ebay where you will find a million and one Chinese replicas for an average of $15. I just placed an order next week for a blue one. We’ll see how it compares to the original which is 10x its price.

Fancy Favorite #2 – Essie’s ‘Wicked’

Let’s be serious for a second. I know its summer and we should all be jumping on the bubbly-pink and coral-craze bandwagon, but there is only so much of it I can take. Remember a few years ago when Wicked was all the rage, no matter the season? Ah, the good old days.

I have to take a second and thank Lauren Conrad (and Netflix’s streaming of ‘The Hills) for this. So late night in bed I like to snuggle up with my iPad and watch horrible reality TV. A month ago, my bedtime was reserved for The Hills (you can judge me, I would) and seeing LC sport this fab color on her nails along with her sick California tan made me long for it. Thank god it’s still available. I could not stand to paint my nails Tart Deco one more time…

Fancy Favorite #3 – Sam Edelman’s ‘Gigi’

Now, this is true love. Without a doubt, the Gigi sandal is my absolute favorite warm weather shoe. I have been a hardcore Gigi-wearer for the past 2 years and they will never get old for me. I purchase most of mine at Lord & Taylor or on Endless. There’s something about their sleek and clean style that just gets me going. Not to mention that the color selection is out of control! Just so you all know I’m serious, check out my (growing- since I realized I now plan on getting the ones above) collection:

Fancy Favorite #4- Million Dollar Listing

Though I am a native New Yorker, I’m much more into Million Dollar Listing LA, and secretly I’m yearning to move to the ‘Bu. These guys just kill me. I’ve come to the conclusion that if I were to be any Jewish gay man, I’d certainly be Josh Flagg.

As a lover of all things Bravo, Million Dollar Listing certainly tops my list of things to watch throughout the week. Must have to do with my love for all things overly expensive, sunshine and witty guys who ask their grandmothers for advice.

Fancy Favorite #5- Maybelline Dream Fresh BB Cream

My thoughts on face makeup will appear later (and again and again and again)…but I have to give this product a huge shout out. I wear the medium, though I will probably drop down a level when my tan fades into the fall. This product really gives great coverage and makes my skin look flawless. I never leave the house without it on, even if it is the only makeup I wear that day. Now, I was originally planning on shelling out $40 for the Smashbox BB Cream, but I am so happy I stumbled upon this at my local drugstore. Nothing makes me happier then finding awesome drugstore products! I mean a fab finish for $10? You can’t beat that.

Stay tuned for more fancy favorite posts, hauls, routines, reviews, and more!

xx – Kate

